Looking Back Towards March

16 Apr

Here is what I read in March! Favorites were Shakespeare: The Man who Pays the Rent and an old one, A Month in the Country. I listened to the Shakespeare (out on 4/23) on audio and it was so, so enjoyable. It’s basically a series of interviews between Judi Dench and one of her actor friends about all of the Shakespeare roles she’s played – where she played them, with who, how she interpreted the character etc. It’s not Judi Dench on the audio, but a similarly-sounded older woman and it was just so pleasant to listen to. It made me feel like I wanted to go back and revisit some of plays I remember reading in college. 5 def stars for the audio!

A Month in the Country is a tiny little novel about a WWI vet who moves into the belfry of a church in this teeny tiny country village to uncover a mural on the church wall that had been painted over. It’s such a quiet (and short) story, but sometimes that hits just the right way for me.4.5 stars.

I really enjoyed the Divine Rivals/Ruthless Vows book – definitely YA, felt a little like WWII but with some fantasy-type elements. Nice little romantic storyline involving bewitched typewriters. 4 stars

My neighborhood book club read The Anomaly by Herve Le Tellier – felt like kind of a departure for our group but I enjoyed it way more than I was expecting to. It’s translated from the French about a plane that takes off from Paris and, after incredibly horrific turbulence, touches down in the USA. We follow passengers from the flight as they go about their lives after this traumatic flight, until 4 months later, the exact same flight with the exact same people touches down again. 4 stars

The top row up there were all fine reads; Dancing in the Shallows was a short character-driven one about generations of a family moving through one small house by the shore. Where the Mountain Meets the Moon was a 4th grade book club book that Jettie and I both loved, Anita de Monte Laughs Last was fine – felt like a riff on Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera a bit. The Villa – fast thriller-ish read drawing inspo from Mary Shelly and Byron Percy.

Leave a comment